

























# Please note that above endorsements are those of last year, to be confirmed for this year.

### Call for Papers, Posters, and Demos

4<sup>th</sup> AETOS International Workshop on "Research Challenges for Future RPAS/UAV Systems" October 12-13, 2016

In Conjunction with UAV Show (uavshow.com), Mérignac (Bordeaux), France

https://uavshow.com/aetos-iw-2016.html

(available soon)

To be informed please send an e-mail to Pr. Serge Chaumette at <a href="mailto:serge.chaumette@labri.fr">serge.chaumette@labri.fr</a> or Pr. Kamesh Namuduri at <a href="mailto:kamesh.namuduri@unt.edu">kamesh.namuduri@unt.edu</a> including [Aetos conference] in the subject line.

This conference is the fourth in the series on Unmanned Aerial Systems with applications to real-world scenarios. It focuses on UAS, supportive technologies, software environments and the associated key research issues. The aim is to bring together the community and to provide an opportunity to share experiences and views of current trends and activities in the domain.

In addition to regular papers, the workshop highlights student posters and demonstrations that showcase real-world applications of UAS. Graduate and Undergraduate students whose posters and demos are accepted for presentation will receive travel support to attend the workshop.

#### **Topics of interest**

Topics of interest include but are not restricted to:

- ✓ Air-space integration, sense and avoid
- ✓ Autonomy
- ✓ Safety, security, fault tolerant approaches
- ✓ Control, guidance, navigation & control
- ✓ Use cases and applications
- ✓ Sensors and sensor integration, payloads
- ✓ Mobility models

- ✓ Trajectory and path planning
- ✓ Ground control integration
- ✓ Mission system support
- ✓ Communication, data link
- ✓ Modeling
- ✓ Applications and real world deployments

#### A special focus of this year will be on issues and use cases of « drones in the city »

#### **Guidelines for Submission**

## For paper submission please connect to easychair at <a href="https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=aetosiw2016">https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=aetosiw2016</a>

Papers approximately 6 pages in length, including figures and references, can be submitted electronically, through the EasyChair conference management system. Authors are suggested to use the standard IEEE conference proceedings templates for Microsoft Word or LaTeX format on A4 size pages that can be found at IEEE website.

All papers, posters, and demos will be judged on originality, significance, correctness, and clarity. It is essential to identify what was accomplished, explain its significance, and include a comparison with previous work. Authors should make every effort so that the technical content of their papers is understandable by a broad audience. All accepted papers will be presented at the conference. The proceedings will be made available online and will be provided as a USB memory key. There will be a printed book of abstracts of all papers for attendees to carry with them at the conference. The organizers are currently working on the possibility to have a special issue of a magazine for selected papers.

#### **Important Dates**

Abstract submission:

Paper/poster/submission:

September 2nd, 2016

September 9th, 2016

September 18th, 2016

Camera-ready final paper:

Workshop:

September, 23rd, 2016

October 12th - 13th, 2016

#### **Organization and Committees**

#### Conference chair

Pascal Bouvry Professor, University of Luxembourg

#### Steering committee

Franck Cazaurang Professor, IMS, University of Bordeaux Serge Chaumette Professor, LABRI, University of Bordeaux Pierre Melchior Assistant Professor, IMS, Bordeaux INP

Pierre Melchior Assistant Professor, IMS, Bordeaux INP Kamesh Namuduri Associate Professor, University of North Texas

Jean-Louis Roch Former European Programs
Director at Thales, 3AF UAS

Tech. Committee, Teacher at ISAE

#### Organization committee co-chairs

Serge Chaumette Professor, LABRI, University of Bordeaux

Kamesh Namuduri Associate Professor, University of North Texas

#### Organization committee

Publicity Co-Chairs Maud Pawlowski Aquitaine Council

maud.pawlowski@aquitaine.fr

Damien Sauveron University of Limoges

damien.sauveron@unilim.fr

Local Organization Chair Anne Huguet Bordeaux technowest / CESA Drones

a.huguet@technowest.com

Finance Chair Jean-Marc Grolleau RPAS Aetos Cluster

jean-marc.grolleau@fr.thalesgroup.com

Proceedings Chair Pierre Melchior IMS, Bordeaux INP

pierre.melchior@ims-bordeaux.fr

Poster Chair Franck Cazaurang University of Bordeaux

franck.cazaurang@u-bordeaux1.fr

#### Program committee co-chairs

Franck Cazaurang Professor, IMS, University of Bordeaux Serge Chaumette Professor, LABRI, University of Bordeaux

Pierre Melchior Assistant Professor, IMS, Bordeaux INP Kamesh Namuduri Associate Professor, University of North Texas

Program committee (provisional. The persons listed below are those who were part of the PC of last year – some the for this year - + some who accepted to join this year)

Bourgeois Julien Professor, LIFS, University of Franche-Comte

Bouvry Pascal Professor, University of Luxembourg
Cazaurang Franck Professor, IMS, University of Bordeaux
Chaumette Serge Professor, LaBRI, University of Bordeaux

Cruck Eva Ecole Polytechnique, ANR

Grégoire Danoy Assistant Professor, University of Luxembourg

Essendorfer Barbara Fraunhoffer Institute Fabiani Patrick Professor, ISAE

Fantoni Isabelle Research Director, CNRS Guerrini Gilles Thales Systèmes Aéroportés

Guinand Frédéric Professor, University of South Britany

Hamel Tarek Professor, LISS, University Nice Sophia Antipolis Henri Michel Chairman of the 3AF Drones Technical Committee,

Dassault Aviation/3AF

Huggins Kevin Colonel, USMA West Point

Le Tallec Claude ONERA

Melchior Pierre Assistant Professor, IMS, Bordeaux INP

Moschetta Jean-Marc Professor, ISAE

Kamesh Namuduri Associate Professor, University of North Texas, USA

Roch Jean-Louis Former European Programs Director at Thales,

3AF UAS Tech. Committee, Teacher at ISAE

Sauveron Damien University of LImoges

Trimmer Barry Thales UK

Evsen Yanmaz Senior researcher, Networked and Embedded Systems,

Klagenfurt

Sofie Pollin Professor, KU Leuven

James P. G. Sterbenz Professor, University of Kansas, USA Arunabha Sen Professor, Arizona State University Natasha Neogi NASA Langley Research Center

Martin Cadirola President, Ecotronics